skip to main content

Regional Collaboration

Lincolnshire Police and its neighbouring forces in the East Midlands have been at the forefront of collaborative policing in the UK for more than a decade.

In fact, the East Midlands Police Collaboration Programme is the largest project of its kind in the UK, serving a population of 4.5 million people living in a region of more than 6,000 square miles, an area which incorporates landmarks such as the world famous Silverstone motor racing circuit in southern Northamptonshire, the Lincolnshire coast to the east and the Peak District National Park at its north-western edge.

Under the collaboration arrangements, the 5 forces of Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Northamptonshire and Nottinghamshire are working together in many different areas vital to policing, ranging from major crime investigation through to IT infrastructure.

Regional Collaboration Teams


East Midlands Special Operations Unit (EMSOU)

Involves all 5 forces providing specialist crime services relating to Major Crime Investigation, Organised Crime Group Management, Forensic Services and Intelligence to name but a few.

East Midlands Collaborative Human Resources, Learning and Development (EMCHRS L&D)

Operates across Leicestershire, Northamptonshire, Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire providing cost effective and innovative solutions to learning needs for policing. In addition an Occupational Health Service forms part of this arrangement.

East Midlands Police Legal Services (EMPLS)

Provides legal advice to Police and Crime Commissioners and Chief Constables across all 5 forces in the East Midlands region in areas such as employment, court and disciplinary, civil litigation and commercial law.

East Midlands Counter Terrorism Intelligence Unit (EMCTIU)

Provides a regional approach to tackling terrorism and the domestic extremism threat across all 5 forces in the East Midlands region.

East Midlands Criminal Justice Service (EMCJS)

Brings together Leicestershire, Northamptonshire, Lincolnshire and Nottinghamshire to provide a single approach to services such as Custody, Prosecutions and Victim Services, working closely with the Crown Prosecution Service and the Courts.

East Midlands Operational Support Service (EMOpSS)

Brings together Leicestershire, Northamptonshire, Lincolnshire and Nottinghamshire to provide a coordinated approach to Armed Policing, Roads Policing, Tactical Support Teams and Dogs.

Gateway Shared Service

A Derbyshire owned service that provides transactional HR services to Leicestershire Police


Regional Collaboration – Summary Agreements

You can download any of the following summary agreements for which Lincolnshire is a signatory. If you require any further information, please contact the Office of the Police and Crime Commissioner.

EMRICC Summary Regional Agreement 

EMSOU Technical Surveillance Unit (All 5 Forces)

EMSOU Major Crime Unit (All 5 Forces)

EMSOU Forensic Services Unit (All 5 Forces)

EMSOU Serious and Organised Crime Unit (All 5 Forces)

EMSOU Fraud and Financial Investigation (All 5 Forces)

EMSOU Special Branch (All 5 Forces)

EM Legal Services (All 5 Forces)

EM Operational Support Services (Leics, Lincs, Northants, Notts)

EM Criminal Justice Service (Leics, Lincs, Northants, Notts)

EM Criminal Justice Service – Data Quality Team (All 5 Forces and CLP)

Note: The collaboration agreement (and related agreements) for this collaboration (originally signed in July 2018) has been extended until 30th April 2022)

EM Criminal Justice Service – Custody (Leics, Lincs, Northants, Notts)

EM Criminal Justice Service - Review Retention and Disposal (All 5 Forces and CLP)

EM Criminal Justice Services – ICT Provision (All 5 Forces and CLP)

EM Regional ESN Programme Team - Summary (All 5 Forces)

EMCHRS Occupational Health Unit (All 5 Forces)

EM Regional Deputy Chief Constable (All 5 Forces)

EM Cross Border Operations (All 5 Forces)

Modern Slavery Police Transformation Fund Programme (National Agreement)

National Ballistic sIntelligence Service (NABIS, All 5 Forces)

National Counter Terrorism Collaboration Agreement

NAVCIS/NWCU and NPFDU Collaboration Agreement

Modern Slavery Police Transformation Programme S22A Agreement

Forensic Collision Investigation Network (FCIN) (REG001.4370)

Part II RIPA & Part III IPA Comms Data Collaboration (REG001.429)